Middletown Quicklinks  mail
page tools / 
Home /
Board of Education / BOE Committees / Redistricting Committee

Racial Imbalance Plan
&   Redistricting

              &

Ad Hoc Redistricting Committee Information


Middletown Public Schools Elementary School Consolidation Analysis dated April 14, 2016 presented by Dr. Charles at the May 10, 2016 Board of Education Meeting. (Note: large document may take a few seconds to load.)

Final Ad Hoc Committee Redistricting Report to the Board of Education
on February 8, 2016.


Public Forum information is found in the beginning of this site followed by the Redistricting Committee Meeting information.



Public Forums

Parents and guardians are invited to attend an upcoming community forums to discuss elementary redistricting.   This is the community’s opportunity to provide input on the redistricting plans being considered. Here are the dates and the locations of these community forums, along with information presented at that forum:

View Letter from Dr. Patricia Charles dated September 25, 2015 concerning redistricting plan which is scheduled to go into effect during the 2016-17 school year.

Please click here to access the Elementary Redistricting: Preliminary Alternatives shared on September 14, 2015

The Initial Redistricting Committee Meeting was held on Wednesday, July 22, 2015 at 5:30 P.M.  The meeting was held at the Dr. Alfred B. Tychsen Administration Building, 311 Hunting Hill Avenue (Room #1), Middletown, CT.  Please view the Redistricting Committee Kick-Off Powerpoint presented on that day.

 


 

Ad Hoc Redistricting Committee Meeting Dates, Agenda, Minutes, etc.

 

 

Ad Hoc Redistricting Committee Members -  June, 2015

Members  Constituency Represented Contact E-mail Address
Augur, Rebecca Consultant Rebeccaa@miloneandmacbroom.com
Cannata, Tom Principal of Wesley School Cannatat@mpsct.org
Charles, Patricia Superintendent Charlesp@mpsct.org
Daniels, Sheila BOE Member Danielssh@mpsct.org
Fitzpatrick, Colleen E.I.S.T. at Snow School Fitzpatrickc@mpsct.org
Hart, Ava BOE Member & Community Representative Hartava@mpsct.org
Henderson, Richard Principal of Farm Hill School Hendersonr@mpsct.org
King, Sean Parent Representative from Spencer School Seankingesq@gmail.com
Loffredo, Vincent BOE Member Loffredov@mpsct.org
Macri, Enza Associate Superintendent Macrie@mpsct.org
Pawlak, Janice MFT President & Teacher Representative from Wesley School Pawlakj@mpsct.org
Sesta, Caryn Parent Representative from Moody School Caryn.sesta@yahoo.com
Thazhampallath, Geen 
City Representative & Parent Representative from Bielefield School Geen.Thazhampallath@MiddletownCT.gov
Waterman, Amy Family Resource Center Program Coordinator & Representative from Macdonough School & Farm Hill School Watermana@mpsct.org

 

 


 

SCHOOLS BY STREETS List (Revised 4/11/2016) Use this list to look up street and assigned school.




Racial Imbalance Plan

3rd REVISION to Plan to Address Racial Imbalance dated October 4, 2013


Middletown Public Schools received an Approval Letter for its Redistricting Plan from Commissioner Mark K. McQuillan of the State Department of Education dated September 7, 2010.

2nd REVISION to Plan to Address Racial Imbalance dated May 24, 2010 - submitted to the Connecticut Department of Education.  (This is an extremely large file 17,126 kb - please be patient)

Welcoming Timeline for Families Moving to a New School updated May, 11, 2010

State of Connecticut Racial Imbalance letter dated April 21, 2010

Demographic Breakdown by School - April 22, 2010
5 year projection by School & Grade - May 20, 2010

Ad Hoc Feasibility Committee Recommendations - March 9, 2010

Board of Education voted on these recommendations, Tuesday, April 6, 2010.  Location - Middletown High School - Auditorium 7 P.M.

The Revision to Middletown's Racial Imbalance Plan dated February 1, 2010, was submitted to the Department of Education.

List of names and contact information for the BOE Ad Hoc Feasibility Committee dated December 15, 2009.

Click here for more information regarding the JCJ Architecture Feasibility Study.



Any links to non Middletown Public School District information are provided as a courtesy. They are not intended to constitute an endorsement of the linked materials by the Middletown Public Schools, the Superintendent of Schools, or Board of Education.

STATEMENT OF NON-DISCRIMINATION --The Middletown Board of Education is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer, and it does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religious creed, age, marital status, civil union, military or veteran status, national origin, ancestry, sex, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, or past or present physical or mental disability in any of its education programs, activities, or employment policies.  All educational programs and offerings, including vocational education and extracurricular activities, subscribe to this policy. Marco Gaylord, Director of District Operations, has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the district non-discrimination policies and may be reached at 311 Hunting Hill Avenue, Middletown, CT  06457; phone (860) 638-1485.

 

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite