Middletown Quicklinks  mail
page tools / 
Home /
Our Schools / Middletown High School / Guidance Department

MHS Guidance Department

Student Support Services  

Becky Carroll carrollr@mpsct.org

 Secretary

 

860-704-4522

Yvonne Kitchel KitchelY@mpsct.org

 Secretary

 

860-704-4520

Stephanie Campbell
campbells@mpsct.org

School Counselor  

Sophomores - Seniors Last Names A – Do

860-704-4532

Kathleen Polaske     
polaskek@mpsct.org

School Counselor

Sophomores - Seniors Last Names Dr -K

860-704-4515  

Kaitlin Levesque
levesquek@mpsct.org  

School Counselor

Freshman
Last Names A - L 

860-704-4528  

Kimberly Lane
Lanek@mpsct.org

School Counselor

Sophomores - Seniors
Last Names L - Re

860-704-4547

Nathan Briggs
briggsn@mpsct.org  

School Counselor

Sophomores - Seniors
Last Names Ri - Z

860-704-4517  

Ralph D’Amato
damator@mpsct.org  

Coordinator of Guidance

Freshman
Last Names M - Z

860-704-4530  

Erica White
whitee@mpsct.org  

College & Career Counselor

College & Career Center

860-704-4514  

Hugh Villacis   villacish@mpsct.org

Social Worker

 

860-704-4546

Jennie Broomfield broomfieldj@mpsct.org

School Psychologist

 

860-704-4516

Bonnie Gaboury
gabouryb@mpsct.org

Dept. Head Special Ed  

 

860-704-4511  

Erin McCarthy
mccarthye@mpsct.org

Social Worker   

 

860-704-4536

Kate Stanley         Stanleyk@mpsct.org

Social Worker

 

860-704-4570

Katherine Donovan  DonovanK@mpsct.org

School Psychologist 

 

860-704-4524

 

 2016-2017 Upcoming Events:

  • Senior College Planning Meeting: September PRIDE 
  • PSAT's - ALL 10th and 11th graders: Wednesday, October 19th 7:30 AM- 11 AM 
  • Financial Aid Night-for Seniors & Parents: Thursday, October 6th 6:30 PM (in conjunction with parent conferences) 
  • Junior College Planning Night & Naviance Overview & PSAT Score Release: January 
  • Incoming Freshman Information Night: January TBD 


School Counselor Roles:

The role of the school counselor includes coordinating, consulting and counseling in the areas of personal/social issues, careers and academic development.High school counselors provide the following services:

  • New student registrations, which involve obtaining cumulative and special education (if applicable) records from previous schools, an intake interview, school tour, and developing a student schedule appropriate for the student. 
  • Meet with students individually to schedule classes
  • Keep records of student meetings, make schedule changes when necessary, and continually monitor social and academic progress.
  • Coordinate parent, teacher and /or student conferences, as academic concerns arise.
  • Continually monitor attendance together with the Truancy Officer.
  • Meet with juniors and seniors for post secondary planning
  • Write letters of recommendation, complete school reports and transcript requests.
  • In the case of special education students, counselors attend and report academic, credit and graduation information at the Planning and Placement Team (PPT) Meetings as needed.
  • Work with students and/or their families in providing referrals to appropriate outside agencies (DCF, FSWN, counseling)
  • Individual counseling services for academic, emotional and behavior issues or crisis intervention, as needed for students.
  • Monitor and assess graduation requirements and participate in credit withdrawal hearings.    
  • Organize homebound tutoring  
  • Coordinate 504 meetings and meet with 504 students as needed  
  • Attend monthly meetings with probation, DCF, Family with Service Needs and community outreach groups. 
  • Lunch duty  
  • Attend weekly guidance meetings  

      

 



 


Any links to non Middletown Public School District information are provided as a courtesy. They are not intended to constitute an endorsement of the linked materials by the Middletown Public Schools, the Superintendent of Schools, or Board of Education.

STATEMENT OF NON-DISCRIMINATION --The Middletown Board of Education is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer, and it does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religious creed, age, marital status, civil union, military or veteran status, national origin, ancestry, sex, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, or past or present physical or mental disability in any of its education programs, activities, or employment policies.  All educational programs and offerings, including vocational education and extracurricular activities, subscribe to this policy. Marco Gaylord, Director of District Operations, has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the district non-discrimination policies and may be reached at 311 Hunting Hill Avenue, Middletown, CT  06457; phone (860) 638-1485.

 

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite