Middletown Quicklinks  mail
page tools / 
Home /
Our Schools / Woodrow Wilson Middle / Governance Council
Woodrow Wilson
Middle School

1 Wilderman's Way
Middletown, CT 06457

Phone: 860-347-8594
Fax: 860-854-6531

Cheryl Gonzalez

Assistant Principals:

David J. Mierzejewski

Diane Niles

Our Adopt-a-School
Board of Ed. member is:
Linda Szynkowicz


Elections for Governance Council

November 10,12,13

at Parent Teacher Conferences.

All Parents Please Vote!

Parents running for election:


2014 -2015 meetings

5:30 - 6:30 in WWMS Library









What is the Woodrow Wilson Middle School Governance Council?  

School Governance Councils represent the many interests of families and staff that make

up a school's community. This is important because research has shown that:

  •  Partnerships among families, school and community members make a powerful contribution to greater student success. No matter what their income or background, students with involved families tend to have higher grades and test scores, better attendance, and higher rates of homework completion.

 The School Governance Council serves as an important role to the school administration by:


  •  Bringing together parents, staff and community leaders to work together to improve student achievement and
  •  Assisting the school administration in decisions impacting students' education in areas such as: Analyzing school data as it relates to the School Improvement Plan, reviewing the school's resources and advising the principal in making programmatic and operational changes.

 Our Governance Council is currently working on the following goals:

  1. Update physical plant [our building] to support a welcoming yet secure atmosphere and academic engagement for students, family and community
  2. Increasing technology resources (computers, projectors, document cameras) in the building to enhance student learning

Our Governance Council

Parent Representatives:

Teacher Representatives:

 Ellie Gagnon (co-chair)

Kate Antonucci (co-chair)

Kristy Byrd

Erin Carter (secretary)


Amanda Harvey


Zachary Stevens




 Community Representatives:


 Felicia Goodwine-Vaughters


 Marc Levine


Deb Petruzzello

*Special Note: Our principal, Cheryl Gonzalez and our assistant principals,

David Mierzejewski and Diane Niles, are active participants; 

However, they are not voting members.  

For more information, please visit our school’s website


Any links to non Middletown Public School District information are provided as a courtesy. They are not intended to constitute an endorsement of the linked materials by the Middletown Public Schools, the Superintendent of Schools, or Board of Education.

STATEMENT OF NON-DISCRIMINATION --The Middletown Board of Education is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer, and it does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religious creed, age, marital status, civil union, military or veteran status, national origin, ancestry, sex, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, or past or present physical or mental disability in any of its education programs, activities, or employment policies.  All educational programs and offerings, including vocational education and extracurricular activities, subscribe to this policy. Marco Gaylord, Director of District Operations, has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the district non-discrimination policies and may be reached at 311 Hunting Hill Avenue, Middletown, CT  06457; phone (860) 638-1485.


email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite